News Archive

The National Cartoonists Society Foundation (NCSF) is happy to announce the winner of the 2009 Jay Kennedy Memorial Scholarship. Chris Houghton (pictured), 20, is a junior at the College for Creative Studies in Detroit, Michigan where he studies illustration. Houghton was chosen from among 120 applicants for the award, which includes a $5,000 scholarship and […]

Last year’s Jay Kennedy Memorial Scholarship was awarded to RISD student Juana Medina. As the winner, she was invited to attend the National Cartoonists Society Reubens weekend, which was held in New Orleans last year. I asked Juana if she could describe her own experience at last year’s Reubens. She graciously consented, even though she […]